My 2011 Bonnaroo by Charlie B. Dahan

These are my fourteen top five favorite sets at Bonnaroo in no particular order.  My ‘old guy at the festival moment’ was falling asleep in my lawn chair during the Girl Talk set.  It was around 2AM and I had been in the 95 degree sun all day.  While it was great to see so many acts for the first time, there were a few I wish I could have caught or caught more of their set.  There was never a block of time where there wasn’t something I really wanted to see.

While these are not in any kind of  order, the first one was my favorite, hands down.

Dr. John, The Original Meters & Allen Toussaint

Galactic with Corey Glover

Arcade Fire

The Decemberists

Florence + The Machine

Eminem

Mavis Staples

Loretta Lynn

Mumford & Sons

NOFX

Primus

Abigail Washburn & The Village

Robert Plant & The Band of Joy

The Black Keys

Also Saw (some or all, minimum of 15 minutes): My Morning Jacket, Devotchka, String Cheese Incident, Amos Lee, Buffalo Springfield, Ray LaMontage, Allison Krauss, Iron & Wine, Atmosphere and Warren Haynes.

Regrettable Misses: Louis Black & Kathleen Madigan, 1st half of Girl Talk, Matt & Kim, Official 2011 poster (all sold out when I went to get one Sunday), Bootsy Collins, Wanda Jackson, Grace Potter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

